The house that once stood on this corner was remodeled in 1851. At that time, a board was found with the construction date, 1696, and the names of the original builders, including Daniel Remark, John Thompson, J. Thomson, and John Thomas.
Sometime in the late 1800s, an owner killed his three daughters and then himself in this house. According to C. S. Gurney, the man committed the murder-suicide “after shooting and wounding a person of whom he had convictions was holding improper relations with his family.”
The vintage photograph above appeared in Gurney's 1902 book, Portsmouth . . . Historic and Picturesque. The Remick House was demolished years ago to make way for commercial development. Today, the location holds one of the ugliest of the new residential buildings being erected in Portsmouth.